The City and Justice Courts, presided over by Magistrate Glenn A. Savona, are located in the Yavapai County Courthouse at 120 S. Cortez Room 103 in downtown Prescott. Parking is available in the city lot on Granite Street behind Whiskey Row and on Marina Street South of Union Street. Do not park in ticketed 2-hour spots.
8:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m. Monday through Fridays, except holidays.
Open Court Sessions
Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday: 9:30 a.m.
Thursday: Jury Trials
Friday: Civil Cases
Jurors are summoned by mail from a list of qualified jurors provided by the Yavapai County Superior Court. Required service is usually one day beginning at 8:15 a.m. Jurors are instructed to call the night before the trial to determine if they should report for duty.
Defensive Driving School Option
If you qualify for and attend the defensive driving school, your citation will be dismissed and will not go on your driving record. Most minor moving violations that did not result in death or serious injury are eligible. No attendance at any Defensive Driving School for complaint dismissal in the last 12 months from the date of the last violation for which attendance at Defensive Driving School was authorized. This is not an option if you possess a current Commercial Drivers License.
List of Arizona Certified Defensive Driving Schools
List of Schools in Arizona
Cost is approximately $210 in lieu of payment of fine. Sign up and complete school at least one week prior to the appearance date given by the officer on the citation.
If you did not receive a bond envelope from the officer, you must appear in court at the date/time listed on the citation.
Mail-in Fine/Bond Payments
Payments may be mailed to 120 S Cortez St, Rm 103, Prescott AZ 86303, so that they are RECEIVED in our office on or before the appearance date. Failure to pay by the date due will result in the statutory addition of a time-payment fee.
Not Guilty Pleas
Come to court on the appearance date and at the time listed on your citation. The clerk will take pleas on minor matters and your trial will be set at a later date OR the judge will take your plea in the courtroom.
Orders of Protection/ Harassment Injunctions
Petition may be filed at any court in the state-superior, justice or municipal. The purpose of these orders is for the protection of a person, not property. They cannot include visitation and/or custody of natural children where paternity has been established. These matters must be decided in superior courts in a different proceeding.
Copy cost set by statute at $.50 per page. Research Fee is $25.
To download court forms please visit the Yavapai County website
To access court case information go to public access to court cases by looking up the Defendant’s last name and all or part of his/her first name or docket number.