Privilege (Sales) Tax



  • Tax and Licensing
  • 201 S Cortez St

  • 928-777-1268

Effective January 1, 2023, the City of Prescott’s transaction privilege (sales) tax rate is decreasing from 2.75% to 2%. (Ordinance No 2022-1801)

The new combined tax rate (State, County &City) will decrease from 9.10% to 8.35%.

Effective January 1, 2017 the City of Prescott is no longer a self-collecting City. The Arizona Department of Revenue (ADOR) is the single point of administration and collection of state, county and municipal transaction privilege tax. Be sure all tax owed to the City of Prescott is reported to ADOR on a separate line under the city region code PR.

Online Services

  • Online Licensing, Reporting, and Payment of Sales Taxes

Transaction Privilege Tax (Sales Tax)

All Arizona cities and towns have a transaction privilege tax which is commonly referred to as a sales tax. It is, however, the tax on the privilege of doing business in Arizona and is not a true sales tax. The seller is liable for the tax but may pass the burden of the tax on to the purchaser. It includes but is not limited to taxation of retail sales, construction, residential and commercial rentals, utilities, communications, and amusements.

Each municipality and county sets their own tax rate, therefore the total tax rate varies throughout the state. The transaction privilege tax rate for Prescott is 2%. For most business classifications, the combined rate for the State of Arizona and Yavapai County is 6.35%. The total tax rate within the City of Prescott is 8.35%.

The City of Prescott tax rates and business classifications are detailed in this tax chart.

Use Tax

Use tax is levied on the purchase of tangible personal property stored, used or consumed within Prescott City limits, when an equivalent city privilege tax has not been paid. A more detailed explanation of the differences between the privilege and use taxes can be found in the “What are Use Taxes?” brochure.

Tax Code