Fair Housing Act



  • CDBG Grants Administrator
  • 201 S Cortez St

  • 928-777-1205

Title VIII of the Civil Rights Act of 1968 (Fair Housing Act), as amended, prohibits discrimination in the sale, rental, and financing of dwellings, and in other housing-related transactions, based on race, color, national origin, religion, sex, familial status (including children under the age of 18 living with parents or legal custodians, pregnant women, and people securing custody of children under the age of 18), and handicap (disability).

Community Development Block Grant (CDBG) entitlement jurisdictions are required to “Affirmatively Further Fair Housing” by Federal law. The City of Prescott became an entitlement jurisdiction in 2005.

City residents who believe they have been discriminated against in attempting to achieve housing should contact Michelle Chavez, CDBG Grant Coordinator, 201 S Cortez St, Prescott, AZ 86303 / 928-777-1205 or email.

Fair Housing Resources

Southwest Fair Housing Council (SWFHC)

The City of Prescott Community Development Block Grant Program works in coordination with the Southwest Fair Housing Council to provide Fair Housing resources to the community.  Please visit their web-site http://swfhc.com/ to find many resources such as:

  • How to report housing discrimination
  • Take a Fair Housing Class (Three CEUs) for Realtors, Planners, and others who need continuing education to maintain licensure or certification
  • Find COVID-19 Resources
  • Find Landlord and Tenant Resources

Arizona Attorney General’s Office

The Arizona Attorney General’s Office is responsible for enforcing Arizona’s Fair Housing Act as well as educating our community about the importance of fair housing and the requirements of our civil rights laws.

The Civil Rights Division of the Attorney General’s Office is always available to provide training to businesses and professional associations that are working to comply with the law. Information on events and training provided by the Division throughout the year can be found on the Attorney General’s Office website, www.azag.gov.

If you would like more information or feel you have been a victim of housing discrimination, the Attorney General’s Office is here to help. Please call us at 602-542-5263 or email us at CivilRightsInfo@azag.gov.

Yavapai County has a regional office of Community Legal Services Arizona.

(CLS) is dedicated to providing legal assistance, advice or representation, self-help materials and legal education so people can know their rights. They focus on helping survivors of domestic violence; assisting victims of consumer fraud and abuse, protecting tenants from unlawful/unfair practices by landlords, foreclosures, legal problems affecting agricultural workers, wage claims and other employment matters, and federal and state programs affecting peoples’ health and economic stability.  Learn more at: https://clsaz.org/ 

Community Legal Services (Yavapai County) – 141 South McCormick Street, Suite 200, Prescott, AZ 86303. Hours: Monday through Thursday: 9:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m., and 1:30 to 4:00 p.m. Friday: Available for telephone calls.

Phone: 928-445-9240 or 1-800-233-5114
Email: infoyaco@clsaz.org

Arizona Department of Housing (ADOH)

While the Civil Rights Division of the Arizona Attorney General’s Office investigates and resolves housing discrimination complaints, ADOH takes an active role in the education and training of housing providers to ensure awareness of fair housing laws.


Housing providers and housing consumers who would like to attend a free training on the Fair Housing Act and their responsibilities and rights under the law may contact the Southwest Fair Housing Council in Tucson, 520-798-1568. Fair housing trainings and workshops are provided throughout the state of Arizona. At least four fair housing workshops are conducted within each of the 13 rural counties in Arizona per year, with Pima and Maricopa Counties receiving at least one workshop per year. Half of these workshops are geared toward housing professionals such as site managers, property owners, leasing agents, lenders, and housing authority staff. The other half are geared toward housing consumers. However, they are open to anyone that would like to attend. Continuing Education Units (CEU) for real estate professionals that need to fulfill this requirement are also provided.


When based on race, color, sex, religion, national origin, familial status or disability, the following actions by housing providers or professionals are prohibited under the Fair Housing Act:

  • Refusing to show, rent or sell a house, lot, or apartment.
  • Refusing to negotiate the rental or sale of a house, lot, or apartment.
  • Charging more to buy or rent a house, lot, or apartment.
  • Requesting a larger security deposit.
  • Telling a person that the property is no longer for sale or rent when it really is.
  • Advertising that a certain type of person is wanted to sell or rent the property.
  • Denying services that are available to others.
  • Insisting that a family live in a designated area.
  • Denying access or use of the facility or service that is normally available with occupancy of a property.
  • Telling owners or renters to move because the neighborhood is being integrated by minorities.
  • Suggesting that a person move to a specific area or property.
  • Allowing unlawful bias to affect the appraisal of a property.
  • Denying a person credit or a mortgage.
  • Providing different terms and conditions for a mortgage or other home loan.
  • Refusing to permit reasonable accommodations for assistive aides, assistive animals, parking, or physical modifications to existing properties.
  • Failing or refusing to provide wheelchair accessible housing in new construction of multifamily dwellings (i.e., accessible environmental controls, accessible routes into and through the dwelling, usable bathrooms, etc.).
  • Engaging in retaliation or intimidation against a person who complains about housing discrimination.
  • Harassment such as racial and sexual slurs or threats.